Skip to main content

GPILS Advisory Committee

This committee serves as a "sounding-board" and advises GPILS leadership on a wide-range of strategic issues related to the ongoing operations of the Graduate Program in Life Sciences.


Committee Chair:

  • James Kaper, PhD, Senior-Associate Dean for Academic Affairs, Professor & Chair, Department of Microbiology & Immunology


Committee Members:

  • Jennifer Aumiller, MEd, Director, Pre & Postdoctoral Career Development 
  • Patrik Bavoil, PhD, Professor & Chair, Department of  Microbial Pathogenesis, Dental School
  • Christy Chang, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Endocrinology
  • Susan Dorsey, PhD, RN, FAAN, Chair, Department of Pain and Translational Symptom Science, School of Nursing
  • Sharron Graves, MS, Director, Strategic Recruitment, Outreach, and Retention
  • Joseph Kao, PhD, Professor, Department of Physiology
  • Achsah D. Keegan PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology; Associate Director, Medical Scientist Teaching Program (MSTP)
  • Margaret M. McCarthy, PhD, Professor & Chair, Department of Pharmacology
  • Dudley K. Strickland, PhD, Associate Dean for Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, Director, Center for Cardio Vascular Inflammatory Disease (CVID)
  • Michael Summers, PhD, Director of Meyerhoff Graduate Fellows Program, Professor, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University Maryland Baltimore County
  • J. Kathleen Tracy, PhD, Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology & Preventive Medicine, Director, Clinical Translational Research Informatics Center
  • Stefanie N. Vogel, PhD, Professor, Department of Microbiology & Immunology
  • David Weber, PhD, Professor, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology; Director, Center for Biomolecular Therapeutics