Skip to main content

PhD Scholar Award

Each program is invited to nominate one person for this award.  This award is intended to recognize a student who is within his/her first three years of study and research.  The student should have an outstanding academic performance record and show great potential as a scientist.  In addition to the nomination letter, two support letters are requested.  These letters may come from any faculty member, but letters from the Program Director, a course director, or member of the student's Thesis Committee are strongly recommended.  The following items are required by the committee:

  • A nomination letter from the student's mentor
  • Two letters of support from faculty members
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae, which should include their GPA
Dr. Dudley Strickland is a bald white man wearing a black suit and white dress shirt. He is standing next to Elizabeth Hill, a white woman with long brown hair and a green blouse. She is holding her award and smiling.

Fall 2022: Elizabeth Hill, Program in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

Fall 2021: Madeline Alizadeh, Program in Molecular Medicine

Photo of Michael Sikorski and Bret Hassel

Fall 2020: Michael Sikorski, Program in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

Hanover Matz, Helen Dooley, and Bruce Jarrell

Fall 2019: Hanover Matz, Program in Molecular Microbiology and Immunology

Fall 2018: Stephen Pratt, Program in Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Fall 2017: Nathan Roberts, Program in Molecular Medicine

Fall 2016: Michael White, Program in Neuroscience

Fall 2015: Haiwen Chen, Program in Neuroscience

_DSC0162 (640x427)

Fall 2014: Grace Maldarelli, Program in Molecular Microbiology & Immunology

Postdoc (640x512)

Fall 2013: Mark Kvarta, Program in Neuroscience


Fall 2012: Gabriel Eades, Program in Molecular Medicine                                  

J Shiu for web

Fall 2011: Jessica Shiu, Program in Molecular Microbiology & Immunology


Fall 2010: Amanda Boggs, Program in Molecular Medicine


Fall 2009: Nick Frost, MD/PhD Program, Program in Neuroscience


Fall 2008: Shayna Rich, Program in Epidemiology & Human Genetics


Fall 2007: Justin Kerr Program in Neuroscience