Skip to main content

The Dr. Mark E. Shirtliff PhD Student Mentor Award

This is a new award created in honor of Mark E. Shirtliff, PhD, former Professor in the School of Dentistry, Department of Microbial Pathogenesis and School of Medicine, Department of Microbiology & Immunology. The nominee must have a record of supportive graduate student mentorship. There is no limit to the number of nominations that we will accept for this award. The nomination packet must include:

  • Two separate nomination letters from individual students who have been mentored by the candidate
  • A nominee’s curriculum vitae, which should include a list of current and past students (and, if known, the current position of past students)

Fall 2021: Mary Kay Lobo, PhD, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology

Photo of Brian Mathur, PhD, wearing a black suit, white shirt, and blue tie in front of a blue background

Fall 2020: Brian Mathur, PhD, Department of Pharmacology

Fall 2019: Jennifer Albrecht, PhD, Department of Epidemiology and Public Health

Fall 2018: Robert Ernst, PhD, Department of Microbial Pathogenesis