Skip to main content

Postdoctoral Fellow Excellence in Research Award

This award is intended to honor a postdoctoral fellow who shows an outstanding record of research performance, professional development, and record of accomplishments.

The supporting letters should address the significance of the nominee's work in the context of the specific discipline and science in general.

The following items are required by the committee:

  • A nomination letter from the mentor
  • A letter of support from a faculty member
  • A curriculum vitae
  • An abstract of no more than 500 words summarizing the overall work and its significance in the field
Dr. Jessica Mong, a white woman with short blonde hair, black glasses, a black blazer over a red and white patterned shirt is smiling and standing next to Jose Lemme-Dumit, a white man with short dark hair wearing a white dress shirt and holding his award.

Fall 2022: Jose Lemme- Dumit, Center for Vaccine Development

Fall 2021: Ann Pulling-Kuhn, PhD, Department of Pediatrics

Parikshit Moitra, PhD wearing a white shirt in front of a white background

Fall 2020: Parikshit Moitra, PhD, Department of Diagnostic Radiology & Nuclear Medicine, Department of Pediatrics

Dean Reece, Polymnia Georgiou, and Todd Gould

Fall 2019: Polymnia Georgiou, PhD, Department of Psychiatry

Fall 2018: Megan Fox, PhD, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology

Fall 2017: Panos Zanos, PhD, Department of Psychiatry

Fall 2016: Kurt Piepenbrink, PhD, Department of Medicine, Institute of Human Virology

Fall 2015: Colin Brinkman, PhD, Department of Surgery

_DSC0172 (640x427)

Fall 2014: Christopher Coleman PhD, Department of Microbiology & Immunology

phD scholar (640x512)

Fall 2013: Mike Bowers, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Pharmacology


Fall 2012: Kelly Beazley, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology

prosser for web

Fall 2011: Benjamin Prosser, PhD, Postdoctoral Fellow, Department of Biomedical Engineering and Technology, PhD awarded by UM Program in Molecular Medicine


Fall 2010: Nicola Heller, PhD, Department of Microbiology & Immunolology and the Center for Vascular and Inflammatory Diseases


Fall 2009: Yuji Takahashi, PhD, Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology


Fall 2008: Joe Mauban, Ph.D., Department of Physiology

2007 postdoc award

Fall 2007: Thomas Stalnaker, PhD, Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology