Skip to main content

Student Awards & News

Congratulations to our Fall 2023 Molecular Medicine PhD graduates:
Dr. Brittany Hazzard
& Dr. Tierra Johnson

Bosung Shim published a first author paper:

Shim B, Stokum JA, Moyer M, Tsymbalyuk N, Tsymbalyuk O, Keledjian K, Ivanova S, Tosun C, Gerzanich V, Simard JM. Canagliflozin, an Inhibitor of the Na+-Coupled D-Glucose Cotransporter, SGLT2, Inhibits Astrocyte Swelling and Brain Swelling in Cerebral Ischemia. Cells. 2023 Sep 6;12(18):2221. doi: 10.3390/cells12182221. PMID: 37759444; PMCID: PMC10527352.

Jessica Cornell was awarded UMB President’s Entrepreneurial Fellowship

Dr. Christine Carney was awarded the 2023 Graduate Program in Life Sciences PhD Thesis Project Award 

Julia Ju won a poster award for best poster at the Advances in Circulating Tumor Cells Conference

Congrats to our current and former students who have been nominated for 2023 GPILS Awards:
Dr. Christine Carney - PhD Thesis Project Award Nominee
Matthew Eason
- PhD Scholar Award Nominee
Makenzy Mull
- The Otani Award Nominee

Belen Avelar, a Fall 2023 incoming PhD student, was recently appointed to the UMB Initiative for Maximizing Student Development (IMSD) T-32.

Matthew Eason was awarded the highly competitive F30 Ruth L. Kirschstein Individual Predoctoral National Research Service Award (NRSA) for MD-PhD students

Congratulations to our students who have passed their qualifying exams in Spring/Summer 2023:
Gregory Schuyler Brown, Payel Das, Dipanwita Dutta Chowdhury, Darin Gilchrist, Garis Grant, Benjamin Grissom, Julia Ju, Shanaliz Natta, Sushrut Pathy, Kaylie Pinto, Philippa Rogers, Yiwei Yang, & Yuyi Zhu

Adarsha Malla received the 2023 National Institutes of Health (NIH) National Center for Advancing Translational Sciences (NCATS) Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA), University of Maryland Baltimore (UMB) Institute for Clinical Translational Research (ICTR) Pre-doctoral Training Award

Kanwal Mahmood received First Prize for 15th Annual Graduate Translation Award
Click here for more details

Bosung Shim co-first authored a publication:

Stokum JA*, Shim B*, Negoita S, Tsymbalyuk N, Tsymbalyuk O, Ivanova S, Keledjian K, Bryan J, Blaustein MP, Jha RM, Kahle KT, Gerzanich V, Simard JM. Cation flux through SUR1-TRPM4 and NCX1 in astrocyte endfeet induces water influx through AQP4 and brain swelling after ischemic stroke. Sci Signal. 2023 Jun 6;16(788):eadd6364. doi: 10.1126/scisignal.add6364. Epub 2023 Jun 6. PMID: 37279286.

Kanwal Mahmood won Best Pre-doctoral Poster (Session I) at the 13th Annual Cancer Biology Research Retreat

Matthew Eason tied for Best Pre-doctoral Poster (Session II) at the 13th Annual Cancer Biology Research Retreat

Julia Ju had her photo "231TD cells treated with Digitoxin" selected as the cover photo for the 13th Annual Cancer Biology Research Retreat

Matthew Eason had his photo "3D Composite of Invading, MMP2+ Triple Negative Breast Cancer Cells on Gelatin Monolayer" selected as the table of contents image for the 13th Annual Cancer Biology Research Retreat

Makenzy Mull had her photo " MCF10A cells actin network" selected as the participants photo for the 13th Annual Cancer Biology Research Retreat 

Congratulations to our Summer 2023  Molecular Medicine PhD graduates:
Dr. Alexa Blanchard & Dr. Paige McKeon

Madeline Alizadeh received the USM Board of Regents Student Excellence Award
Click here for more details

Congratulations to our Spring 2023 Molecular Medicine PhD graduates:
Dr. Robert Brown, Dr. Katarina Chang, Dr. Jonelle Lee, Dr. Jenna Leser, & Dr. Kevin Rose

Kaila Noland received the Martin Frank Diversity Travel Award at the 2023 American Physiology Summit 

Gregory Schuyler Brown was inducted into the University of Maryland, Baltimore Campuses chapter of The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi